Beans, berries and bloomin’ snow

Not to be deterred by a little bit of snow (well, quite a lot of snow actually), we pulled on those wellies, filled the flask with coffee and wobbled our way up the hill with the wheelbarrow to the plot. The snow was not going to deter us – especially after having spent £45 in Wilko (oh, how we love Wilko) the day before – we had stuff to do!

Snowy views from the strawberry bed

The snowy allotments

White earth

Some of us were a little optimistic (as always) in thinking they would be able to dig up parsnips for the Sunday roast dinner. Not sure what part of frozen earth and four inches of white stuff on top he was not comprehending, but that’s men for you! (Let’s face it, it was only last Sunday when, after 4 hours of trying to drill drainage holes in a barrel and getting nowhere, he realised that the drill was in reverse!! Sometimes he can be quite…challenging.) So, once realisation had filtered through to those little grey cells he finally saw the sense of shutting the door of the greenhouse from the inside, pouring a hot coffee and setting to with planting the broad beans. All quite simple you would think until reality hit again and we remembered that the bags of compost we needed to plant the beans were outside – and yes, they were frozen solid! With many cups of coffee and a lot of positive thinking (even from me), we managed to thaw enough of the compost to plant them – 96 Aquadulce are now shivering in seed trays. Which seems to be what the onions are still doing as, 4 weeks later, there’s still no sign of anything happening. They need heat.

Not letting the snow stop planting

There is, however, good news. I have now transplanted 18 chillies which are looking strong and healthy, and I’ve also planted some sweet red peppers. These are all happily sitting on a nice warm windowsill. The other good news is that, thanks to My Tiny Plot, I now have four white strawberry plants (courtesy of Wilko, £2.28 for 2 – we love Wilko – have I mentioned that already?). When I first saw these in Wilko I wasn’t that impressed – they just looked like anaemic strawberries to me. It wasn’t until I read My Tiny Plot‘s post that I realised that they had a pineapple taste. Suddenly they became more attractive and an absolute must-have. So, now they are nicely potted up waiting for the weather to improve before going into the strawberry beds.

White strawberries

All we need now is a big thaw so that the compost might actually be ready for the next planting session and those blasted onions might actually start to sprout!

5 responses to this post.

  1. You sound as impatient as me – I too have broad beans and onions waiting for a bit of warmth to get them going – tomato seedlings on the window sill to be joined shortly by sweet peppers and cucumbers – good job we’ve got deep sills.

    Reply

  2. Hi Elaine, I’m glad to hear there’s someone else out there who’s still waiting for their onions to materialise. I think tomatoes will have to be our next planting session as I’m starting to feel we’re falling behind on those too!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Karen on February 12, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    I’m going to sow more broad beans soon, after losing my autumn sowing to the weather. You’ve reminded me to put my bag of potting compost inside first! I like the look of the white strawberries and the taste sounds divine!

    Reply

  4. I have a small (un-heated) pop up greenhouse and am curious as to what I could put in there now.

    I’m having issues re light inside and not enough but is there anything that can be sown now and left outside unheated, or is it still too early.

    Reply

    • You could try broad beans – they don’t mind the cold. We have just put some in our unheated greenhouse to start them off. For anything else I think it’s still a bit too early until the weather starts to warm up a bit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

